Week 2: The Fence

This week and next, my crew and I are walking the fence line at Walnut Canyon National Monument and repairing any damages.  The fence marks the boundary between National Park Service land (who manage the canyon), Forest Service, and private lands.

Since the fence surrounds the canyon, there are many areas where it crosses a “wash,” which is where rain carries debris down small valleys in the landscape. This can take out sections of fence line if there are large rocks and trees coming through. We used stretchers and barbed wire to patch holes and saws to remove any trees that had grown or fallen onto the fence.

Make sure the barbed wire on your backpack is secured or else you will end up with arm scrapes..
Between the trees and the ground I promise there is a very hard-to-see fence

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last weekend I also had the opportunity to go to the Grand Canyon for a weekend hiking/camping trip and it was absolutely stunning! Below are some of the terrible wildlife photos I captured (I’ll never forget my binoculars again..).  Try to spot them all!

Common Raven
Mountain goats (adult in front center, younger above)
California Condor (looks like a turkey vulture in the top center of the tree)
Western Scrub Jay

Leave a comment